Skip to main content

Six months!

Six months already?!

 

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="300"] No way![/caption]

 

She is such a big girl!


 

 

Such a happy girl!

 

Such a chubby girl!

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="300"] Look at my knee dimples![/caption]

This girl lights up our life. She is now 6.5 months old, because I have again been working on this update for two weeks. But I have to say that six months is my favorite so far! I was so nervous that I wasn't savoring the newborn stage enough, or even the four month stage which was supposed to be so awesome. Those stages were awesome, because she is awesome, but they were also hard. Newborns are overwhelming, with all the breastfeeding and intense postpartum emotions. And four months brought rough transitions out of the swaddle and rock-n-play and a heavy dose sleep regression. It's still hard at times, but she is SO MUCH fun now. She smiles all the time and grabs at our faces and kicks her legs in excitement, and I just can't get enough of this baby

IMG_0288.JPG
Weight: As of Tuesday, she is 17.8 pounds! She's been steady in the 70-80th percentiles. She is in some 6 month clothes and some 9 month clothes, depending on the brand.



She's in size three diapers. And I might have a problem with diaper stockpiling. You can't have too many diapers, right? I think I've got all the size threes we'll need, and I'm adding to our size four pile. It seems like at least every other week, CVS has diapers on sale with an extrabucks reward. And then they send me a $5 coupon, which when combined with printable coupons and extrabucks ends up making the diapers $2-3 per pack, so how do I not buy them?! I just stop after church on Sundays, do a quick transaction, and keep rolling the extrabucks into the next sale. I guess as long as there is still space in the closet, I will keep adding! Look at my pretty stockpile!

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="400"] All the diapers[/caption]

Eating:

Still mostly breastfed. Breastfeeding is finally going great, and I'm so thankful we were able to make it work for us. I know it could just have easily have gone poorly. We've started a bit of solids, settling upon baby led weaning with a bit of rice cereal for the iron. But I'm not sure she is all that into spoon feeding, unless she can chew on the spoon, so I will probably incorporate fortified cereals into finger foods like pancakes and muffins for her. Right now she just gnaws on her veggies, but thankfully Riley loves a nice well-gnawed on piece of squash or cucumber or carrot! He is loving this solids thing already. Gracie thinks it's ok, too (but she is a much more selective eater than Riley).

[caption id="attachment_2026" align="aligncenter" width="300"]For me?! For me?![/caption]

 

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="300"] The spoon is the best part![/caption]

 

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="300"] squash![/caption]

Sleeping:

Oh, I could write paragraphs on her sleeping. She still only really cries when she is tired or fighting sleep, so sleep is still my obession. And I wouldn't say she is a bad sleeper. She still naps for 4-5 hours a day and sleeps 12 hours a night, minus the 5 minute feeds during the night. I've spaced most of her day feedings to be about 4 hours apart, and that seemed to help her sleep for slightly longer stretches at night, but then we hit the six month sleep regression (if there is a sleep regression to be found, this girl finds it) and we were back to waking once every hour or two. This ended up being the push I needed to move her back to the nursery at night. I was very weepy about this, as it felt awful to spend all night away from my baby, but I knew she needed to fuss it out a bit, and it's hard to let that happen when she's sleeping next to us. So I moved her into the nursery on Sunday. And it's gone really well! Still up every 3 hours or so the first couple nights, but Tuesday night/Wednesday morning I woke up to her crying and wondered why I felt so great and realized it was 4:30! That was 6.5 hours since the last feed! Last night, she was up and needed some settling during the 11 pm and midnight hours, but then I woke up at 4:55 and realized she was still asleep! I ended up feeding her, because I wanted to get two good feedings in before I left for work, so I'm not sure how long she would have slept if I hadn't fed her.

So, despite all my obsessing, she's a pretty good sleeper. I don't have a baby that sleeps through the night without a fight, but we stay on her sleep needs and she gets enough sleep and is rarely over-tired, and that's most important.

[caption id="attachment_2043" align="aligncenter" width="225"]IMG_0328 Errands make a girl tired![/caption]

 

[caption id="attachment_2044" align="aligncenter" width="300"]Let's just hang for a bit before I go back to sleep, ok? Let's just hang for a bit before I go back to sleep, ok?[/caption]

Likes:

Daddy! She adores her daddy so much. It is the most adorable thing ever.

[caption id="attachment_2036" align="aligncenter" width="300"]Lunch with daddy?!? Lunch with daddy?!?[/caption]

 

[caption id="attachment_2033" align="aligncenter" width="300"]Just loungin' with my dad! Just loungin' with my dad![/caption]

Toys! She is grabbing at everything now, and I love watching the new things she can do every day.

[caption id="attachment_2027" align="aligncenter" width="300"]Just playing a little piano on the farm. Just playing a little piano on the farm.[/caption]

[caption id="attachment_2029" align="aligncenter" width="300"]An owl with tags! I love tags! An owl with tags! I love tags![/caption]

She loves the dogs, and Riley loves her back. Gracie still thinks she's quite boring, but she will love her once they can play with their toys together. She loves being tickled, she loves to eat, she loves lounging in her swing and bouncing in her jumperoo. Lots of things are fun these days!

 

[caption id="" align="aligncenter" width="360"] Life is good![/caption]

****

This whole thing is starting to feel more real. It's taken about 15 months, but it's finally sinking in that we finally had an IUI that WORKED and gave us a real life BABY. That baby is ours and she is amazing and we are on the other side of infertility (for now, at least). Sometimes after I get into bed, I scroll through my instagram photos from the last year and try to grasp it all, the fact that I really was pregnant, I really did give birth to a baby and I really do now have a daughter. It all feels like a blur, but I want to savor it, remember it, own it. It has been a gift, the redemption of our pain, and I don't want to just drive on past it.

She is really here. She is really ours. And she was undoubtedly worth the wait.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Olivia Marilyn Rich

Hi friends! Looks like I blogged in 2018 a total of...zero times. I did start a lot of drafts, but none made it to publishing. I'm hoping to maybe get back into blogging (like, at least more than zero times in 2019), but I realized that until I can give any life updates, I need to post SOMETHING about baby #2's arrival. According to my blog, I'm still 9 weeks pregnant with her, but she is now 15 months old. So here is the completed version of her birth story that I attempted to write last year. In order to tell Livvie's birth story, I need to record her pregnancy. It was hard to write about during it, harder to write about it after it. I'm feeling less connected to it now- it is a hazy memory of misery in my mind. I know it was awful, but I can't quite remember just how awful. I guess this is how people have more babies, as the memories are slowly swallowed up by the heavenliness of the baby outside of the womb. The most difficult part of my pregnancies is...

'Til We Finally Meet

When we awoke you were not to be You never swam in our blue sea Now you’ve gone to different oceans Than the one we floated our hopes in When we lost our baby, I did not know how to grieve. So I didn't. I treated it like a failed cycle and put my hand to the plow, pulling my heart and body toward the next thing. We will get pregnant again, I told myself. That will make it all better. Lets pretend this never happened. You were a breaking in the clouds We barely said these things aloud There was a question you were the answer We heard music you were the dancer But in the in-between time, waiting for my body to recover so we could begin treatment again, it eventually became too much to ignore that we had a child. Two children, I guess, though my mind can't possibly comprehend the existence of that other one, the empty sac that never grew beyond four or five weeks. But that beautiful miracle on the ultrasound scream, the sound of the doctor exclaiming "There's a baby with ...

IVF update

We completed our first IVF cycle (minus the transfer)! For those are interested, here's an update on how it went. Stims I was looking forward to the stimming process, with all the sciency needles and vials. And it was fun for awhile, until my follicles (eggs) started growing. Then it started to get old and very uncomfortable. But I responded so well! For our IUI's, I usually had very little response at the first ultrasound. But for my first IVF ultrasound, I already had a great number of follicles growing with an E2 (estrogen level) of 937! And then things just ballooned. Two days later, I had 27 follicles. Then 39. I triggered with 39 follicles and an E2 of 4540. One of the reasons they pushed the number of follicles was due to my left ovary, which they were concerned they might not be able to reach for retrieval. For most of the stimming process, it was hidden underneath my uterus. So they wanted to make sure my right had a good amount of mature follicles, and it di...