I am 10 weeks, 2 days today. My baby is the size of a prune. My belly is much larger than that.
I'm still living in the week. I've had people ask me where I will be delivering (a normal question), and I can not wrap my mind around that. That feels like an eternity away, after so many hurdles, and I can only wrap my mind around this moment. 10 weeks pregnant, more pregnant than I've ever been. I'm here in this week, slowly climbing toward the next one.
I've had doubts about us making our announcement at 9 weeks. I know that the smart folks wait until 12 weeks or later. In some ways, I am jealous of those people who just get pregnant and are able to hide it for that long. We can't really do that, since we have chosen to be very vulnerable and honest about our fertility struggle. A lot of people ask, because a lot of people care, and I have refused from the beginning to lie about it. The best we could do was wait until our second beta to tell our familes. Last pregnancy, I told a lot of people before we even had that, and I regretted it when we got the mediocre news that my hcg had not doubled.
Then there is the fact that, last time, I told a handful of people, and that handful kept growing, and when it came time to give the really bad news, I had to search through my texts and Facebook messages and emails to make sure everyone was updated. That part was awful. In this way, a public announcement makes things much easier. If things go wrong, I just have to announce it again. It will be awful, but it will not be as bad as updating people over and over and over again.
Not that I'm dooming things to go wrong. I've just seen it all. I have a dear friend who lost a baby at 15 weeks. Two who lost at 19 weeks. One who lost at 8 months. I will never feel safe, never feel as though it is the perfect time to announce. Our chance of failure is 1% right now, but I have seen the flesh and blood of that 1%, and it is scary. But when will it NOT be scary?
So, all that said, I'm glad we announced when we did. It was fun to see just how many people have been rooting for us. I'm so thankful for that. I've said before that while it's scary to be vulnerable, it's even scarier to feel alone. And I don't feel alone. The support is worth the inconveniences of vulnerability.
Our baby seems to be growing strong. I'm still pretty sick. My stomach has grown a lot in the last two weeks, despite the fact that the books say I won't show until the second trimester. I'm already in some maternity clothes, mainly because I've discovered that maternity leggings are the most comfortable things ever ever. And I'm happy, so happy, that things seem to be going well.
During the last few months of treatment, I started reading fertility blogs, and I read so many stories. I love stories, so I got sucked into a lot of them. Some gave me hope, some broke my heart, all gave me new people to pray for. One thing I loved about the blogs I found was the "TTC (trying to conceive) timeline" most have on their pages. I really like data, so I loved reading about other journeys with all the data. This made me decide that it was time to include our journey on the blog. I tried to keep the fertility lingo out of it, but it will still probably only make sense to those who know the lingo. But for those who have wondered all the ins and outs of what we've been through, feel free to read about our infertility journey here.
In other news, I have been teaching a chemistry course for the summer quarter at Harrison College. I taught this course last year, and it was a lot of work but worth it. I get rusty in my chemistry if I don't teach it every year. It means driving from Zionsville to Anderson ever Wednesday evening and it keeps me up past my bedtime, but I'm enjoying it. Last year when I taught the course, we had just started doing medicated IUI cycles, and so whenever I feel like it is hard to teach this class while pregnant, I remind myself how hard it was during clomid cycles. I'd much rather be pregnant.
And, that's all I've got. Seems like my brain can only do a lot of rambling on here these days, but I'll do my best to keep it updated :)
"When will it not be scary?" Never. My oldest is 23, middle dude is 16, and youngest is 11. So far, it's never been *not* scary.
ReplyDeleteAnd that's parenthood. We think that "once we get past ____ point" it will be less scary. Past the threat of miscarriage, past the threat of birth and he's in my protective arms, past the threat of SIDS, past the threat of being diagnosed with developmental delays . . . or autism, past the threat of ...
bullying
learning disabilities
puberty
girls/boys/friends no good for them
social pressures
falling into drinking/drugs
first broken heart
driving
first love
I could go on and on and on ...
You are never past the threat of the worry and fear over something. That is the absolute terror and pure joy of being a mother and trusting in God's faith in *you* to do this.